Back to the list

Japanese cryptocurrency exchanges shared the action plan in case of Bitcoin split

18 July 2017 21:00, UTC

Thirteen exchanges, members of Japan Cryptocurrency Business Association, have officially announced their plans on August 01, 2017 when a Bitcoin protocol split may take place. Bitcoin.com takes a look at what Japanese cryptocurrency exchanges are going to do in this situation.

Thirteen exchanges that made the collective announcement have agreed to temporarily stop Bitcoin deposits and withdrawals. Only the services related to bitcoin depositing and withdrawing will be suspended while regular services for other digital currencies will be provided as usual. According to Association representatives, the soft fork will impact the transmission and deposit of bitcoins by all its users and all digital currency exchange operators and service providers will be affected.

The following exchanges are members of the collective announcement:

  • Bitbank Inc.

  • Bitpoint Japan Co. Ltd.

  • Quoine Co. Ltd.

  • Fisco Cryptocurrency Exchange Inc.

  • Coincheck Co. Ltd.

  • Btc Box Co. Ltd.

  • Tech Bureau Co. Ltd. (Zaif Exchange)

  • GMO-Z.com Coin Co. Ltd.

  • Campfire Corporation

  • Bit Trade Co. Ltd.

  • Bitcrements Bitcoin Exchange

  • Tokyo Bitcoin Co. Ltd.

  • Minnano Bitcoin

Halt of operations is expected to start on August 01, 2017, at 00.00 Japan time. However, the Association participants admit this time may be shifted depending on the situation. Bitcoin deposits and withdrawals are planned to be available again by 16.00 Japan time, August 04, 2017.

Japan’s largest cryptocurrency exchange by volume, Bitflyer, is not in the Association list. It is expected that it will present its action plan this week.